Journalist 103 (of The Left) “Reporting Live”

Honing in on the modern man’s struggle, Journalist 103 uses his words to paint vivid pictures of peril, inspiration and overcoming hardship.  As the lyricist behind The Left’s critically acclaimed 2010 opus, Gas Mask, Journalist maneuvered through obscurity and rose to infamy as one of Detroit’s most celebrated narrators.  Throughout the years, he has shared the mic with legends such as Kool G Rap and even lent his voice to the opening track on Proof’s out-of-print Detroit classic and now collector’s item, Electric Coolaid Acid Testing.

As his name suggests, Journalist 103 is able to articulate his point of view like a true professional, never relying on cheap frills to captivate listeners.  “Journalist is a perfectly-titled MC because his raps have no gimmicks….but keep the listener coming back for more because they’re expertly-arranged, compellingly delivered, and contain real substance,” declares  The past two years have been incredible for Journalist, as his album alongside producer Apollo Brown and DJ Soko, collectively known as The Left, garnered a 92 (out of 100) from, reached the number 1 position on’s staff picks for the Top 10 Albums of the Year, and has earned select spots in both DJ Premier and HipHopDX’s rankings for top albums of 2010.

Journalist 103 continues his investigative report on the human psyche and charters new territory on his solo debut, Reporting Live, to be released via Babygrande Records. “It is definitely a privilege and an honor to be putting this album out on Babygrande Records” remarks Journalist. “Sharing the Roster with the likes of Freeway and the legendary GZA makes everything up to this point all worth the while” he adds. Featuring guest appearances from Freeway, Saigon & Fashawn, and production from Snowgoons, Apollo Brown, Oddisee, The Audible Doctor, and more, Journalist 103 returns to boast lyrics straight from the headlines of an eye-opening periodical.

Journalist 103’s solo debut, Reporting Live, hits stores worldwide on October 30, 2012 via Babygrande Records.

“Reporting Live” Track List:

1. The Foundation (produced by Lex Luthorz)

2. Rockstarz (produced by: Snowgoons)

3. Where Is The Love (featuring Vstylez & Eternia) (produced by Apollo Brown)

4. Dreamer (produced by ATG)

5. Do What I Do (featuring Jack Freeman) (produced by Lex Luthorz)

6. Hear Me (featuring Saigon & Fashawn) (produced by The Audible Doctor)

7. Moving 2 Fast (produced by ATG)

8. Arson (produced by Traveling Merchant Productions)

9. 3 AM (produced by: Monkodelic)

10. United We Stand (produced by Monkodelic)

11. Danger (featuring Freeway) (produced by Marc Byrd)

12. Revolutions (produced by: Black Bethoven)

13. The System (produced by Lex Luthorz)

14. Urban Legend (featuring Stryfe) (produced by: Monkodelic)

15. Walk With Me (produced by Oddisee)

This entry was posted in Artists, Catalog, CD, Current Releases, Format, Journalist 103 (of The Left) and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.